Fotomaton – Vincen Beeckman

Fotomaton, Vincen Beeckman
A project of Recyclart in collaboration with CENTRALE for contemporary art
13, 22 en 30-03 2018, van 11:00 tot 14:00
ULB, Campus Solbosch, Avenue Paul Héger
The festival BLC – Bruxelles Libre Culture, dedicated to cultural diversity, is organized on the Solbosch campus of the ULB (Université Libre de Bruxelles) during the month of March. Both street art, cinema, architecture, sculpture, photography, painting, music, dance and theater are put in the spotlight. Every weekday, various permanent and punctual activities will take place in different corners of the university. CENTRALE for contemporary art, partner of the festival BLC, offers a special programming, in collaboration with artist Vincen Beeckman :

Over the years Vincen Beeckmanhas become one of the key figures of the Brussels art scene, in which he has been particularly active. He works as an organiser for Recyclart, is a member of the BlowUp and Oiseaux Sans Têtes collectives, as well as being behind many sociocultural projects and the creator of plenty of work on his own account.

In Belgium, in Africa and elsewhere, Vincen Beeckman has developed a form of work which is anchored in the day to day. His lens turns the everyday into a real subject for our curiosity. Working with ordinary objects and anecdotes, the photographer does his research and weaves stories together. Although the medium of photography serves him as a starting point for a series of – occasionally somewhat odd– investigations, it is also a way of tying together dialogue with the local populations to whom he offers to relate the environment. In this spirit of bringing people together, he creates many of his works in public spaces.

This is the case with his travelling Fotomaton which he taken all over Belgium and France. At first sight, this photo booth appears to be one of the traditional type, an enclosed space in which you can pose. However, here, instead of an automated device, the photographer himself in flesh and blood, separated from his model by a glass screen, starts a conversation in the darkness. In this way, taking on the air of a confessionnal, the Fotomaton questions the concept of identity for its participants.

This reimagined booth will be in attendance this year at the festival BLC, inviting festival-goers to share in this unique experience!

Festival BLC – Bruxelles Libre Culture
First edition from 05-03 until 30-03 2018
ULB, Campus Solbosch, Avenue Paul Héger
In partnership with CENTRALE for contemporary art

 

 

Photos – 30-03 2018

Photos – 22-03 2018

Photos – 13-03 2018

Fotomaton – Vincen Beeckman

Fotomaton, Vincen Beeckman

Un projet de Recyclart en partenariat avec la CENTRALE for contemporary art
Les 13, 22 et 30-03 2018, de 11:00 à 14:00
ULB, Campus du Solbosch, Avenue Paul Héger

Le festival BLC – Bruxelles Libre Culture, dédié à la diversité culturelle, est organisé sur le campus du Solbosch de l’ULB (Université libre de Bruxelles) durant tout le mois de mars. Tant le street-art, que le cinéma, l’architecture, la sculpture, la photographie, la peinture, la musique, la danse ou encore le théâtre seront mis à l’honneur. Tous les jours de la semaine, du midi au soir, de multiples activités permanentes et ponctuelles se dérouleront dans les divers recoins de l’université.

La CENTRALE for contemporary art, partenaire du festival BLC, proposera une programmation spéciale avec la participation de l’artiste Vincen Beeckman :

Particulièrement actif sur la scène artistique bruxelloise, Vincen Beeckman en est devenu, au fil des ans, une figure incontournable. A la fois programmateur à Recyclart, membre des collectifs BlowUp et des Oiseaux Sans Têtes, il est également l’auteur de nombreux projets socioculturels et d’un abondant travail personnel.
A Bruxelles, en Belgique, en Afrique ou ailleurs, Vincen Beeckman développe un travail ancré dans le quotidien. A travers son objectif, la banalité se mue en véritable objet de curiosité. A partir de situations ordinaires, le photographe entreprend des recherches et tisse de nombreux récits. Le médium photographique est aussi le moyen de nouer un dialogue avec les populations locales dont il se propose de relater l’environnement. Dans cet esprit de rencontres, il réalise de nombreuses interventions dans l’espace public.
C’est également le cas de son Fotomaton ambulant avec lequel il a sillonné la Belgique et la France. De prime abord, ce photomaton présente les aspects d’une cabine traditionnelle, une sorte d’isoloir dans lequel on prend la pose. Mais ici, au contraire d’un dispositif automatisé, le photographe en chair et en os, séparé par une vitre de son modèle, entame la conversation dans l’obscurité. Prenant alors les allures d’un confessionnal, le photomaton questionne, avec ses participants, la notion d’identité.

Cette cabine insolite revisitée sera présente à l’ULB à l’occasion du festival BLC, invitant les étudiants à participer à cette expérience unique !

Festival BLC – Bruxelles Libre Culture
Première édition, du 05-03 au 30-03 2018
ULB, Campus du Solbosch, Avenue Paul Héger
En partenariat avec la CENTRALE for contemporary art

 

 

Photos – 30-03 2018

Photos – 22-03 2018

Photos – 13-03 2018