Heliophone – Aernoudt Jacobs @ MIM

>

Extra Muros

Où sont les sons ? Where Are Sounds? // EXTRA MUROS

Heliophone is an installation that turns sunlight into sound. Its basic principle is quite simple: energy from the sun is transformed into sound without electronic amplification. In the design, however, Jacobs combines an impressive array of traditional and cutting-edge technologies. The installation follows the trajectory of the sun, catching the sunlight and focusing it, via a parabolic lens, onto one point. There, a rotating disk chops the light up into small fragments. A photo-acoustic cell further transforms the light fragments into sound, made audible by a large horn. With Heliophone, Aernoudt Jacobs has created a sound piece for the sun, the tonality of the installation constantly changing with the intensity of the light.

The public will be able to see and hear the Heliophone installation, in action under the effects of the sun’s rays , on the terrace of the Musical Instruments Museum (10th floor). Free access during the museum’s opening hours.
Since 2015, continuing his research into light, Aernoudt Jacobs has been creating laser drawings, which allow him to draw lines with great precision. A selection of these recent drawings (working sketches, reflections, free compositions) is on display at CENTRALE and rounds off the artist’s contribution to the exhibition Où sont les sons ? Where Are Sounds?

 

Artists

Photos

Musical Instruments Museum
Hofberg 2 Montagne de la Cour
1000 Brussels

Monday to Friday: 9.30 am – 5.00 pm
Saturday, Sunday, public holidays: 10.00 am – 5.00 pm
Closed on Mondays

www.mim.be

MIM

Heliophone – Aernoudt Jacobs @ MIM

>

Extra Muros

banner_ou_sont_les_sons_Heliophone

Où sont les sons ? Where Are Sounds? // EXTRA MUROS

Heliophone est une installation où la lumière du soleil engendre des sons. Le principe de base est simple : l’énergie du soleil est transformée en sons, sans amplification électronique. Toutefois, l’artiste a fait appel à une foule de technologies traditionnelles et de pointe durant l’élaboration de l’œuvre. L’installation suit la trajectoire du soleil, la captant et la dirigeant vers un point bien précis à l’aide d’une lentille parabolique. Là, un disque rotatif découpe la lumière en d’infimes fragments. Une cellule photoacoustique transforme alors ces fragments en sons qu’un long cornet rend audibles. Avec Heliophone, Aernoudt Jacobs crée une œuvre sonore où la tonalité se module continuellement selon l’intensité de la lumière solaire.

Pour voir et entendre l’installation Heliophone en action sous l’effet des rayons du soleil, rendez-vous sur la terrasse du Musée des instruments de musique au 10ème étage. Accès libre durant les heures d’ouverture du musée.

 

Dans le prolongement de sa recherche sur la lumière, Aernoudt Jacobs crée depuis 2015 des dessins à l’aide d’un laser, lui permettant de tracer des lignes d’une grande précision. Une sélection de ces dessins récents (esquisses de travail, réflexions, compositions libres) est exposée à la CENTRALE et complète la contribution de l’artiste à l’exposition Où sont les sons ? Where Are Sounds?

 

Artistes

Photos

Musée des instruments de musique
Montagne de la Cour 2
1000 Bruxelles

Du mardi au vendredi : 9:30 > 17:00
Samedi, dimanche, jours fériés : 10:00 > 17:00
Fermé tous les lundis

www.mim.be

MIM