Private Choices

>

Centrale

banner_private_choices

11 Brussels collections of contemporary art

Private Choices lifts the veil on a significant aspect of art: contemporary art collections and its initiators, the art lovers. The latter play an increasingly important role in the constantly growing art world and, in the era of disproportionate commercialisation and globalisation of the art market, these passionate people invest time and money in contemporary creation, often lavishly.

This project sheds light on 11 Brussels collections including works by Belgian and international artists, both confirmed and emerging, in an attempt at showcasing the specificity of each one. Through a selection process carried out hand in hand with the collectors, we discover a facet of their vision of art and life.

Carine Fol, art director at the CENTRALE and curator of the Private Choices show confides:
I experienced a fascinating journey as I went on the discovery of works, collections and the many fascinating personalities behind them. From kitchen to dining room, from bedroom to entrance hall, each room tells a story through dialogues between the works. Consciously or unconsciously, each collector gives sense to the work inside her/his universe. Whether these collections are methodical, intuitive, secretive or shared, they all tell a private story: the tale of the collector who found them, the acquisition, and the (mental and physical) proximity of works that feeds their lives. Constantly mutating and endlessly growing, their collection gives them energy, motivation to travel, to question their choices, sometimes beyond reason…

From the first to the last piece (personal tastes change whether one is 20, 40 or 60), all these works testify of the commitment towards an artist and her/his creation, confirming that collecting means staying alive all the while stirring certainties, unsettling and questioning the complexity of creation and its ties to the world. A collection reveals the collector insofar as collecting is a personal activity, a work onto oneself that allows the collector to look at the world differently in an aim of discerning its inconsistencies.

 

In addition to a 200 or so artworks, spectators will discover a selection of books, a piece of music and an interview of the collector who will introduce the universe of each artist.

COLLECTIONS

couleur_01

Collection R.PATT

A surrealistic cabinet
With works of Jean-Michel Alberola • anonyme • Stephan Balleux • Manon Bara • Enrico Bay & J. De Jong • Pascal Bernier • André Breton • Frank Castelijns • Sébastien Delvaux • Dialogist-Kantor • Takahiro Kudo • Leo Dohmen • Jiri Georg Dokoupil • Lou Dubois • Marcel Duchamp • Jane Graverol • Jean Harlez • Caroline le Méhauté • René Magritte • Man Ray • Marcel Mariën • Billie Mertens • E.L.T Mesens • Claus Otto Paeffgen • Zoé Paternoster • Laurence Skivée • André Stas • Christophe Terlinden • Emmanuel Tête • Marcel Vandeweyer
couleur_02

Collection Frédéric de Goldschmidt

Eulogy of white
With works of Sarah Bostwick & Jim Campbell • Michel François • Marcius Galan • Theaster Gates • Nadia Guerroui • Aniceto Exposito López • Piero Manzoni • Vincent Meessen • Otto Piene • Diogo Pimentao • Sebastião Salgado • Cy Twombly
couleur_03

Collection BC

Harmony and intensity
With works of Korakrit Arunanondchai • Kader Attia • Louise Bourgeois • Thierry De Cordier • Andrès Serrano • Miguel Rio Branco • Bill Viola
couleur_04

Collection Nicole et Olivier G.

Creation close to social commitment
With works of Brigida Baltar • Stephen Brandes • Vincen Beeckman • Marie José Burki • Detanico & Lain • Simon Faithfull • Aurélien Froment • Hamza Halloubi • Ane Mette Hol • Olga Kisseleva • Michaël Matthys • Léa Mayer • Tom Molloy • Simon Nicaise • Joëlle Tuerlinckx • Regina Viserius • Royal Art Lodge • Marc Wendelski
couleur_05

Collection C2

To Life, to Death
With works of Francis Alÿs • Wim Delvoye • Jan Fabre • Michel François • Damien Hirst • Jeff Ladouceur • Sophie Langohr • Kris Martin • Yoshitomo Nara • Fabrice Samyn • Freddy Tsimba
couleur_06

Collection Veys-Verhaevert

The Invisible Collection
With works of Stefan Brüggemann • Marc Buchy • Elisabeth S. Clark • Edith Dekyndt • Detanico & Lain • Aurélien Froment • Mario Garcia Torres • Cristina Garrido • Pierre Gerard • gerlach en koop • Guðný Rósa Ingimarsdóttir • Florian Kiniques • Benoît Maire • Roman Ondàk • Pratchaya Phinthong •
Pep Vidal • Oriol Vilanova
couleur_07

Collection Yolande De Bontridder

From artist to work
With works of Isabel Baraona • Jeanine Cohen • Anne De Gelas • Edith Dekyndt • Nils Dieu • Lise Duclaux • Jo Delahaut • Inci Eviner • Bernard Gaube • Jef Geys • Jean Glibert • Bénédicte Henderick • Guðný Rósa Ingimarsdóttir • Elliot Kervyn • Solange Knopf • Nicolás Lamas • Valérie Mannaerts • Els Opsomer • Tinka Pittoors • Benoît Platéus • Jonathan Sullam • Yoann Van Parys • Richard Venlet & Danny Venlet • Ann Vester
couleur_08

Collection Famille Servais

Art as the reflect of human nature
With works of Apparatus 22 • Carlos Aires • Dieter Appelt • Roger Ballen • Nick Cave • Regina Galindo • Nan Goldin • Daniel Gordon • Ryan Trecartin & Lizzie Fitch • Emmanuel Van der Auwera • Corinne Vionnet • Jérôme Zonder
couleur_09

Collection Galila

“De rien” | ‘Out of Nothing’
With works of Boris Dennier • Michael Johansson • Gonçalo Mabunda • Chema Madoz • Issey Miyake • Rachel Perry Welty • Bernard Pras • Frank Schreiner • Tobias Sternberg • David Taborn • Pascal Tassini • Hiroko Tsuchida • Joep van Liefland • Daniel Von Weinberger
couleur_10

Vanhaerents Art Collection

Once upon a time…
With works of Tracey Moffatt • Paul Pfeiffer • Jason Rhoades • Francesco Vezzoli
couleur_11

Collection 1987

In Osmosis
With works of Nel Aerts • David Altmejd • Andreas Blank • Jemima Burrill • Johan Creten • Lili Dujourie • Jochen Höller • Jürgen Klauke • Abigail Lane • Marlène Mocquet • Charles Sandison • Nedko Solakov • Daniel Spoerri

During the exhibition, visits will be organised to discover the collections of Walter Vanhaerents, Frédéric de Goldschmidt and Alain Servais.

Artists

CENTRALE
Place Sainte-Catherine 44 Sint-Katelijneplein
Bruxelles 1000 Brussel
WED > SUN 10:30 > 18:00
Closed at 16:00 (24-12 & 31-12 2017)
Closed on public holidays (11-11, 25-12 2017
& 01-01, 01-04, 01-05 2018)

TICKETS
8,00 € // 4,00 € // 2,50 € // 1,25 € // 0 €

First Sunday of the month 11:30: Free guided tour (included in the ticket)

logo_private_choices

Private Choices

>

Centrale

banner_private_choices

11 collections bruxelloises d’art contemporain

La CENTRALE n’a de cesse de se déployer comme découvreur et diffuseur de l’art contemporain bruxellois dans une perspective internationale. L’exposition Private choices lève le voile sur un pan important du champ de l’art : les collections d’art contemporain et les amateurs d’art qui en sont les initiateurs. Plus que jamais, ils jouent un rôle majeur dans un monde de l’art en constante croissance. A l’ère de la commercialisation à outrance et de la mondialisation du marché de l’art, ces passionnés investissent leur temps et leur argent, dans la création contemporaine,souvent sans compter.

Ce projet met en exergue 11 collections bruxelloises qui rassemblent des oeuvres d’artistes belges et internationaux, artistes renommés et jeunes créateurs, pour tenter de dévoiler la singularité de chacune. Par le biais de choix réalisés en concertation avec les collectionneurs, c’est une partie de leur vision de l’art et de la vie qui se découvre.

Carine Fol, directrice artistique de la CENTRALE et commissaire de l’exposition Private Choices confie à propos du projet :
“Ce fut une aventure passionnante de partir à la découverte de toutes ces oeuvres, de toutes ces collections et surtout, à travers elles, de toutes ces personnalités et individualités. De la cuisine à la salle à manger en passant par la chambre à coucher et le hall d’entrée, chaque pièce raconte une histoire à travers des dialogues entres les oeuvres. Consciemment ou inconsciemment, chaque collectionneur donne un sens à l’oeuvre à l’intérieur de son univers. Car, qu’elles soient méthodiques, intuitives, gardées au secret ou partagées, ces collections racontent des histoires personnelles : celles de leur collectionneur pour qui la découverte, l’acquisition, la proximité – physique ou mentale – des oeuvres nourrissent l’existence.

En constante mutation et croissance, la collection les énergise, les motive à voyager, à se remettre en question, parfois au-delà du raisonnable …. De la première à la dernière oeuvre, (on n’aime pas la même chose à 20, 40 ou 60 ans), toutes sont la preuve d’un engagement pour l’artiste et sa création. Tous en témoignent : collectionner, c’est rester en vie, remuer ses certitudes, se déstabiliser et questionner la complexité de la création et du lien au monde. Une collection dévoile le collectionneur dans la mesure où il s’agit d’une activité fondamentalement personnelle, un travail sur soi ; elle permet de regarder le monde autrement, de tenter d’en cerner les incohérences.

A travers ces 11 collections, le lien avec l’artiste est plus ou moins présent ; d’aucuns côtoient les créateurs des oeuvres, d’autres pas ; d’aucuns vivent entourés de leurs oeuvres, d’autres non ; d’aucuns partagent leur collection avec le public, d’autres la gardent dans des caisses ou dans une réserve, … mais à chaque fois elle remplit leur existence métaphoriquement et vide leur compte en banque !”

Les 11 collections évoquées peuvent s’identifier par la rigueur ou la diversité de leur contenu: cinématographique, politique, sensuelle, conceptuelle, surréaliste… toutes offrent autant de regards et d’interrogations sur le monde et le monde de l’art, sur l’artiste et sur soi-même. Quel que soit le sens qu’il octroie à la collection, les motivations de l’amateur d’art contemporain qui fait le pas de commencer à collectionner, sont multiples et toujours stimulées par un désir et une nécessité de vivre à travers l’art une aventure personnelle, intellectuelle et sensible.

Le spectateur découvrira outre une sélection de plus d’une centaine d’oeuvres, un livre, une pièce de musique et l’interview du collectionneur qui introduira l’univers de chaque accrochage.

COLLECTIONS
Frédéric de Goldschmidt, Walter Vanhaerents, Alain Servais, Veys – Verhaevert, Yolande De Bontridder et des collectionneurs ayant souhaité rester anonymes.

Pendant l’exposition des visites seront organisées à la découverte des collections de Walter Vanhaerents, Frédéric de Goldschmidt
et Alain Servais.

CENTRALE
Place Sainte-Catherine 44
1000 Bruxelles
MER > DIM 10:30 > 18:00
Fermé à 16:00 (24-12 & 31-12 2017)
Fermé les jours fériés (25-12 2017 & 01-01 2018)

TICKETS
8,00 € // 4,00 € // 2,50 € // 1,25 € // 0 €

Premier dimanche du mois à 11h30 : visite guidée offerte avec le ticket d’entrée

logo_private_choices