POSTPONED – Performance Ayelen Parolin & Lea Petra

Dear visitors, 
For reasons beyond our control, the performance Wherever The Music Takes You II – Performance Ayelen Parolin & Lea Petra is postponed.
CENTRALE’s team thank you for your understanding.

Wherever The Music Takes You II – Performance Ayelen Parolin & Lea Petra
21.10.2020 – 19:00 POSTPONED
Reservation: info@centrale.brussels
CENTRALE.hall

12€ – exhibition & performance

Since 2014 and the trio Hérétiques, Ayelen Parolin collaborates with pianist and composer Lea Petra. With the duo Wherever The Music Takes You, they explore once again their way of co-writing when both of them are on the set. That’s a first: in the four creations that brought them together before, Ayelen led the project from the outside while Lea was on stage.
Last year, as part of the Festival XS in Brussels, was therefore born a first version of their “stage meeting”. It is a work on the unpredictable, with a writing resolutely in the present of the performance, banging together restrain and joy, rage and pleasure, energy in the excess and a policy of escalation – more or less controlled… A duet that thumbs its nose at our time where security and predictive algorithms triumph.
For this second version of Wherever The Music Takes You, the duo decided to work again on the unpredictable but approached it in another way. It is no longer a question of speaking of, but of starting from the unpredictable: the challenge is no longer to refer to it as a possible grid of reading or as a writing intention, but as the objective to follow – for each, separately – in the choice of the ways of working and writing… Come
what may?

Ayelen Parolin

Ayelen Parolin (born in Buenos Aires, lives and works in Brussels) is a dancer and choreographer, trained at the National School of Dance and the San Martin Theatre in Buenos Aires. As the laureate of the Pépinières Européennes pour Jeunes Artistes Programme XXL and scholarship winner of the Pina Bausch Foundation grant (2016), her work has been presented at the Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brussels), at the XS festival at the Théâtre National (Brussels), at the Biennale de Charleroi Danse (Brussels and Charleroi), at the Brigittines (Brussels), and at Montpellier Danse.

Lea Petra

Lea Petra (born in Buenos Aires, Argentina), obtained her diploma of higher piano teacher at the “Juan José Castro” Conservatory under the direction of pianist Inés Gómez Carrillo. At the same time she studied architecture at the University of Buenos Aires. In 1996 the Wagnerian Association of Buenos Aires recognized her as Young Artistic Personality of the Year. Lea has composed music for several pieces of contemporary dance, theatre, circus, performance and instrumental music. She has been collaborating with choreographer Ayelen Parolin since 2014. She has also worked with Thomas Hauert (Walking Oscar in 2006, Danse étoffée sur musique déguisée, music by John Cage), performer Ivo Dimchev (Concerto in 2016), circus company Ciconcentrique (Breathe in 2011) and Théâtre de la vie in Brussels (Kafka the musical in 2016).

 

In the frame of the exhibition Xavier Noiret-Thomé & Henk Visch. Panorama from September 3 2020 to January 17 2021.

Performance Ayelen Parolin & Lea Petra

Wherever The Music Takes You II – Performance d’Ayelen Parolin & Lea Petra
13.01.2021 – 19:00
Réservation: info@centrale.brussels
CENTRALE.hall
12€ – exposition & performance

Depuis 2014 et le trio Hérétiques, Ayelen Parolin collabore avec la pianiste et compositrice Lea Petra. À travers le duo Wherever The Music Takes You, c’est leur mode de co-écriture qu’elles réexplorent à deux, au plateau. Et ce, pour la première fois : dans les quatre créations qui les ont réunies jusque-là, si Lea était déjà sur scène, Ayelen dirigeait le projet depuis l’extérieur.
Ainsi, en 2019 (dans le cadre du Festival XS à Bruxelles) est née une première version de leur rencontre scénique. Un travail sur l’imprévisible, pour une écriture résolument conjuguée au présent de la représentation, entrechoquant tenir et jouir, rage et plaisir, énergie de la démesure et politique du dérapage – plus ou moins contrôlé. Un duo en guise de pied de nez à ce temps présent où triomphent le sécuritaire et les algorithmes prévisionnels.

Pour cette seconde version de Wherever The Music Takes You, le tandem reprend le travail sur l’imprévisible mais en l’abordant d’une autre manière. Il ne s’agit plus de parler de, mais de partir de : l’enjeu n’est plus de se référer à l’imprévisible en tant que possible grille de lecture ou en tant qu’intention d’écriture, mais comme l’objectif à suivre – pour chacune, séparément – dans le choix des modalités de travail et d’écriture… Et advienne que pourra ?

Ayelen Parolin

Ayelen Parolin est chorégraphe et danseuse. Née à Buenos Aires, Argentine, elle vit et travaille à Bruxelles. Elle a étudié à l’École Nationale de Danse et au Théâtre San Martin à Buenos Aires. En Europe, elle a suivi la formation exerce à Montpellier. Elle a ensuite travaillé comme interprète pour Mathilde Monnier, Mossoux-Bonte, Jean-François Peyret, Mauro Paccagnella, Louise Vanneste, Alexandra Bachzetsis, Anne Lopez et Riina Saastamoinen. Lauréate des Pépinières Européennes pour Jeunes Artistes Programme XXL et de la bourse de la Fondation Pina Bausch (2016), son travail a été présenté au Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Bruxelles), au festival XS au Théâtre National (Bruxelles), à la Biennale de Charleroi Danses (Bruxelles et Charleroi), aux Brigittines (Bruxelles), mais aussi à Montpellier Danse.

Lea Petra

Lea Petra est née à Buenos Aires, Argentine. Elle obtient son diplôme de professeur supérieur de Piano au Conservatoire « Juan José Castro » sous la direction de la pianiste Inés Gómez Carrillo. Parallèlement elle poursuit des études d’architecture à l’Université de Buenos Aires. En 1996, l’Association Wagnérienne de Buenos Aires la distingue comme jeune personnalité artistique de l’année. Lea a composé la musique de plusieurs spectacles de danse contemporaine, théâtre, cirque, performance et musique instrumentale. Elle collabore avec la chorégraphe Ayelen Parolin depuis 2014, mais aussi avec Thomas Hauert (Walking Oscar en 2006, Danse étoffée sur musique déguisée, music by John Cage), avec le performeur Ivo Dimchev (Concerto en 2016), avec la compagnie de cirque Circoncentrique (Respire en 2011) et avec le Théâtre de la vie à Bruxelles (Kafka the musical en 2016).

 

Rendez-vous à la CENTRALE du 3 septembre 2020 au 17 janvier 2021 pour l’exposition Xavier Noiret-Thomé & Henk Visch. Panorama