Max Kesteloot

>

CENTRALE.box

GOOD LOST CORNERS - places that appeal to me

“These are my stories, but to the reader, the content will not be that different. These could be anyone’s stories.” – SPOT SPOTS – Prologue due to circumstances, 2017 – Artist book, Self-published – Max Kesteloot

For more than 10 years, Max Kesteloot (1990, Ghent, lives and works in Oostende) has been capturing his observations on photo. During walks or travels, his main focus is on his surrounding urban context, often including seemingly banal architectural elements. His images are devoid of people and only refer indirectly to a potential presence or action. Kesteloot’s work seems to be about how we absorb our environment, and how it results in fragmented impressions and associative memories.

In the exhibition GOOD LOST CORNERS – places that appeal to me, visitors can hear a constant voice that refers to places that have been photographed by the artist and then used as a source for making new works. It is impossible for the viewers to know which text belongs to which image, but this is precisely what makes it interesting to explore the work further.

Untitled photograph, Ault (FR), 2019 © Max Kesteloot

In partnership with

 

 

Curator

  • Tania NASIELSKI

Artists

58 days left
before the exhibition’s opening

CENTRALE.box
Place Sainte-Catherine 44
1000 Brussels
WED > SUN 10:30 > 18:00
Closed on public holidays (01.05)

TICKETS
0 €

Max Kesteloot

>

Centrale Box

GOOD LOST CORNERS - places that appeal to me

« Il s’agit d’histoires personnelles mais pour le lecteur, le contenu ne sera pas si différent. Elles pourraient être les histoires de n’importe qui. » – SPOT SPOTS – Prologue due to circumstances, 2017 – Artist book, Self-published – Max Kesteloot

Depuis plus de 10 ans, Max Kesteloot (1990, Gand, vit et travaille à Ostende) capture ses observations sur photo. Au cours de promenades ou de voyages, il se concentre principalement sur son contexte urbain environnant, constitué d’éléments architecturaux souvent banals. Ses images sont dépourvues de personnes et ne se réfèrent qu’indirectement à une présence ou une action potentielle. Le travail de Kesteloot semble porter sur la façon dont nous absorbons notre environnement, et comment cela se traduit par des impressions fragmentées et des souvenirs associés.

Dans l’exposition GOOD LOST CORNERS – places that appeal to me, les visiteurs peuvent entendre une voix constante qui se réfère à des lieux qui ont été photographiés par l’artiste, puis utilisés comme source pour réaliser des œuvres visuelles. Pour les spectateurs, il est impossible de savoir quel texte appartient à quelle image, mais c’est exactement ce qui rend intéressant l’exploration de l’œuvre.

Untitled photograph, Ault (FR), 2019 © Max Kesteloot

En partenariat avec

Artistes

J-22 avant l’ouverture de l’exposition

CENTRALE.box
Place Sainte-Catherine 44
1000 Bruxelles
MER > DIM 10:30 > 18:00
Fermé les jours fériés (01.05)

TICKETS
0 €